Reviews

We realize the many physical therapy options that are available to our patients; we strive to provide the finest care with superior results and patient satisfaction. We are honored to be chosen to provide care to the patients we serve.

Please share your experience with us by writing, emailing, or on the internet at:

csheaffer@optsinc.com

or:

https://plus.google.com/103590490483927088322/about?hl=en

What our patients are saying we did well...

Add A Review…

Rated 5/5 based on 9 customer reviews
"I had trouble with my back my first experience with Karl . My left leg would burn and tingle go numb and really hurt. Karl gave me exercises and it took a little time but he actually got rid of the problem. He really knows the body and how it works. My second visit there was for my left knee. He once again worked his magic and I am pain free. He just amazes me. He is so passionate about his job. I would highly recommend Karl if you ever need physical therapy. He is the best Physical Therapist, Specialist ! If you have pain give him a call, they get back to you very promptly. It definitely is worth it."
Apr 30, 2019
"I had a 100% positive experience with this office. Karl expertly evaluated my knee, pin pointed the problem, did a little manual therapy, and sent me home with four simple, yet very effective exercises for me to do at home. The relief has been immediate. I feel like I have a good knee back! I would highly recommend this team any time. "
Apr 05, 2019
"I would totally recommend Dr. Sheaffer for your therapy. He gets right to the root of the problem and works on getting you better. Cindy the practice manager is very helpful and friendly. I feel good now!!! Thank you!!"
Mar 21, 2019
"Dr. Karl has provided PT for my entire family for issues that ranged from lower back pain (herniated disc), knee and neck pain. Without exception, he properly diagnosed the situation and prescribed the appropriate PT to resolve the condition! The practice is highly professional, organized, and competent. My family is grateful as his expertise not only resolved the issues but, it avoided unnecessary invasive procedures. Highly recommend the practice."
Mar 20, 2019
"Doctor was clear and concise on analysis along with plan of action to help relieve the pain and allow me to get back into my normal routine. Although not yet there, I feel exercises will get me back feeling better as well."
Mar 07, 2019
From Google
"My daughter has went to Dr. Sheaffer on two different occasions. The first time, she was 9 years old and had a left leg ankle injury. We went to CHOP to see an Orthopedic Surgeon who did an xray and put my daughter in boot for 4 weeks. She missed the entire softball season. They never saw a break on the xray, but based on the location of the injury and swelling, they told me she had a break in the growth plate. After 4 weeks, they removed the boot and she was still in pain. They recommended physical therapy. We found Dr. Sheaffer through a friend whose daughter had a similar ankle injury. Within the first 5 minutes of meeting Dr. Sheaffer, he looked at her feet and could tell there was no break in the ankle, but her ankle was out of alignment. He performed a few exercises on her and fixed her ankle within minutes. She was pain free and back to sports immediately. The second time we went to Dr. Sheaffer she was 11 years old. My daughter has had knee issues since she was around 7 years old. She is very active in multiple sports throughout the year. When her knee issues first started, we saw a local Orthopedic Surgeon recommended by our pediatrician. He told us her knee issue was related to her going through a growth spurt and to wear padded knee braces that had a foam cushion to keep the knee cap from sliding out of place. She has worn knee braces for all sports ever since and her knee cap would continue to dislocate (specifically her right knee). A few weeks ago she was at a winter softball clinic and her knee dislocated during a batting drill causing significant swelling and pain. We went to urgent care, they did an xray and they recommended follow up with an Orthopedic. At our follow up with Orthopedics, they recommended an MRI and physical therapy. We got the results from the MRI which showed a complete tear of the meniscus in her right knee, but they said it was an old injury and recommended surgery. Surgery for my 11 year old daughter. We had already had scheduled PT with Dr. Sheaffer for the same day and Ortho recommended going to the appt. I'm so glad we did. Dr. Sheaffer again looked at her MRI report as well as her knees and feet. He performed a few tests on both her legs and based on those tests he could tell her right tibia was out of place at the knee. Within the first 5 minutes, he popped her tibia back in place. My daughter felt it and we all heard it pop. The pain went away within two days. She attended all three of her sports practices/games that same weekend and did not wear any knee braces for the first time in four years. The swelling completely disappeared with the few times we had physical therapy. I would recommend Dr. Sheaffer for anyone needing physical therapy. He has been wonderful at addressing the issue at the root cause with both of my daughters injuries instead of jumping to surgery. My daughter does have a completely torn meniscus, but that has not been the reason for her knee issues. Being hyermobile was the prime reason for the tibia coming out of place years ago which caused the "old" completely torn meniscus. We will not be having surgery thanks to Dr. Sheaffer."
Feb 01, 2019
From Google
"My daughter has gone to Dr. Sheaffer on two different occasions. The first time, she was 9 years old and had a left leg ankle injury. We went to CHOP to see an Orthopedic Surgeon who did an x-ray and put my daughter in a boot for 4 weeks. She missed the entire softball season. They never saw a break on the x-ray, but based on the location of the injury and swelling, they told me she had a break in the growth plate. After 4 weeks, they removed the boot and she was still in pain. They recommended physical therapy. We found Dr. Sheaffer through a friend whose daughter had a similar ankle injury. Within the first 5 minutes of meeting Dr. Sheaffer, he looked at her feet and could tell there was no break in the ankle, but her ankle was out of alignment. He performed a few exercises on her and fixed her ankle within minutes. She was pain-free and back to sports immediately. The second time we went to Dr. Sheaffer she was 11 years old. My daughter has had knee issues since she was around 7 years old. She is very active in multiple sports throughout the year. When her knee issues first started, we saw a local Orthopedic Surgeon recommended by our pediatrician. He told us her knee issue was related to her going through a growth spurt and to wear padded knee braces that had a foam cushion to keep the knee cap from sliding out of place. She has worn knee braces for all sports ever since and her knee cap would continue to dislocate (specifically her right knee). A few weeks ago she was at a winter softball clinic and her knee dislocated during a batting drill causing significant swelling and pain. We went to urgent care, they did an x-ray and they recommended follow up with an Orthopedic. At our follow up with Orthopedics, they recommended an MRI and physical therapy. We got the results from the MRI which showed a complete tear of the meniscus in her right knee, but they said it was an old injury and recommended surgery. Surgery for my 11 year old daughter. We had already had scheduled PT with Dr. Sheaffer for the same day and Ortho recommended going to the appt. I'm so glad we did. Dr. Sheaffer again looked at her MRI report as well as her knees and feet. He performed a few tests on both her legs and based on those tests he could tell her right tibia was out of place at the knee. Within the first 5 minutes, he popped her tibia back in place. My daughter felt it and we all heard it pop. The pain went away within two days. She attended all three of her sports practices/games that same weekend and did not wear any knee braces for the first time in four years. The swelling completely disappeared with the few times we had physical therapy. I would recommend Dr. Sheaffer for anyone needing physical therapy. He has been wonderful at addressing the issue at the root cause with both of my daughters' injuries instead of jumping to surgery. My daughter does have a completely torn meniscus, but that has not been the reason for her knee issues. Being hypermobile was the prime reason for the tibia coming out of place years ago which caused the "old" completely torn meniscus. We will not be having surgery thanks to Dr. Sheaffer. "
Feb 01, 2019
"I have been a patient of OPTS off and on for over 8 years. After a failed ACL surgery rehab with a surgeon owned physical therapy center I was referred to Dr. Karl Schaeffer by my family practice physician. Basically my case was a train wreck and I was remanded by the initial surgeon to a physical therapy assistant for my care who did not identify the problem. Fortunately, Dr. Schaeffer was able to identify that the ACL surgery was done incorrectly and recommended I seek alternate opinions from other surgeons on a course of action. After a subsequent surgery to remove the implanted ACL, I proceeded with physical therapy until I had completely recovered. The difference with OPTS is you get a Doctor of Physical Therapy who knows what he is doing every visit for your care. I highly recommend Dr. Schaeffer to anyone in need of physical therapy. "
Nov 20, 2018
"went in for an ankle sprain and their was only him in the office which was a little weird because I am only 18. He then asked me a couple questions and then popped my ankle. I asked him to give me exercises and he gave me 2. The session lasted a total of 15 minutes and was a complete scam."
Aug 01, 2017
From Google
"Dr. Karl has been an asset to my family over the past 15 years. He was recommended by an OAA representative regarding my teenage daughter's back issues. Dr. Karl fitted her with lifts to correct her spine alignment. My husband's back pain was healed through physical therapy with Dr. Karl. And I thank him dearly for the phenomenal exercises that keep my entire spine in alignment and eliminate the pain of my herniated disk. I love that he has a no nonsense plan for patients to heal and get back to what it is they enjoy most in life. "
Apr 27, 2017
"I was skeptical when my Orthopedic suggested I go for physical therapy. I have been down this road before, and warm heating pads and exercises were not helping with the deeper issues I was having. I waited a week or two before finally breaking down and making the call to Dr. Karl. I am so glad that I did! Dr. Karl is not like other PTs, his knowledge and training take him way beyond what I have experienced with past therapy. Dr. Karl was able to identify the problem, alleviate the pain that I was experiencing and then show me supporting exercises to increase core strength. I will happily recommend him to friends and family."
Mar 22, 2017
"As an collegiate athlete, you expect to have injuries throughout your career. I have had several injuries that cause me a lot of pain and affect how well I can compete, but with Dr. Karl's help I am back playing my hardest within a week, and it is as though the injury was never there. "
Mar 08, 2017
"I have been living with a single knee problem for 15 years. Most of the cartilage only on the inner side of my left knee was gone over 10 years ago. The first orthopedic physician (MD) that reviewed my situation wanted to perform arthroscopic surgery to clean a tear. I refused and sought a second opinion. The second orthopedic physician (MD) shot me up with cortisone, then hyaluronic acid lubricant, then fitted me with an awkward knee brace that I was told was to be with me for the rest of my life. At my first visit to Dr. Sheaffer for a different minor issue, I was wearing shorts and Dr. Sheaffer asked why I was wearing the brace. I relayed the history and was told that I could throw away the brace with the right treatment. Of course, I was very skeptical because I had a vacation scheduled to Alaska requiring a fair bit of hiking. After the treatment by Dr. Sheaffer, I did go to Alaska without the brace and proceeded to hike a trail that took me up 500 vertical feet with no problems. Since then I backpacked and hiked the Grand Canyon from rim to rim at the age of 61 and the brace is still on my closet shelf as a reminder. Since those first visits, I will go to no other physical therapist and have referred others who have had excellent results. There is no one better in the Lehigh Valley."
Jan 05, 2017
From Google
"Dr. Karl Sheaffer is the best physical therapist I've ever been too, and I've had knee and back problems since I was in middle school. He is always very thorough when evaluating a new condition, and is often able to pinpoint the problem within a very short time and correct the issue quickly. In addition on more complex cases, Karl will think outside the standard practices to ensure the patient is able to improve. I had a total knee replacement due to sever trauma when I wad 30 years old, and had significant scar tissue as a result of the trauma and surgery. He worked with me 5 days a week to ensure the my knee healed properly and I am now able to walk without a limp or cane. He even worked with my primary care physician to identify and treat hyper nerve sensitivities as a result of the surgeries and trauma to my knee. I've never had a physical therapist so hands on and concerned with my well being and I don't think I would be walking without a cane if it wasn't for his physical therapy."
Jan 04, 2017
From Google
"If you want the best PT treatment in the Lehigh Valley, come here! This is a 1 on 1 clinic, (not a meat factory for the surgeons as I call the big hospital/PT clinics). I always recommend Dr. Sheaffer, he is without a doubt, the best in the area. Personable and Friendly. I trust Dr. Sheaffer, my family & I have been coming here since he opened. He has FIXED our shoulders, knees, feet, neck and backs! NO SURGERY! So before going for surgery, let Dr. Sheaffer evaluate your symptoms, a minor tear doesn't always require surgery, just PT. If you do require surgery, TELL your surgeon where you are going for P.T. and Don't let them tell or sway you otherwise, You do have a CHOICE in your healthcare. They always "recommend" their own in house P.T. factory, not the best Physical Therapist."
Dec 29, 2016
From Google
"Dr Karl Schaeffer is a superior Physical Therapist who takes his job seriously and really knows his specialty. He has treated me & my children for a variety of injuries/issues over many years. Dr Karl is always spot-on with his diagnosis and treatments. His wife Cindy is cheery & keeps the front office running smoothly. I highly recommend this practice if you're in need of some PT magic!"
Dec 28, 2016
From Google
"Best physical therapy option around. Dr. Sheaffer offers a level of patient care beyond other providers."
Dec 26, 2016
From Google
"I had a horrible experience with "Dr." Sheaffer. I recommend you go well, anywhere else. The tl;dr version: In May of 2014 I developed a mild case of costochondritis and was refered for physical therapy. Based on the previous reviewer's good review and his fairly close proximity to my home, I decided to use Dr. Sheaffer for physical therapy. I was actually fairly impressed with how together his office seemed, his receptionist had no trouble processing my insurance, and took my credit card number to bill for anything that wasn't covered. There was not much of a wait and Dr. Sheaffer made a good first impression. It was slightly after this point when things started to go wrong. The manipulations he was attempting weren't doing what he expected, so he tried something new. It ended up causing sever additional pain in my chest and my sternum to cracking and popping, something it had never done before. The pain was bad enough that I thought about going into the ER. I ended up being able to get in to see the pain specialist I had gone orginally the next day instead. When I questioned him about it, he yelled at me and threw me out of his office. He then proceed to bill me for services he never performed. I confirmed this with his office, they then billed me again anyways. They had agreed to charge my credit card (which was on file) for any additional fees that weren't covered by my insurance. Instead they sent me to collections. Worst experience with a physical therapist for me to date."
Jan 21, 2015
From Google
"I am VERY pleased with the care my family received from Orthopedic Specialists. First, about two years ago, my daughter (a dancer) was referred to them for physical therapy for shin splints. At the very first appt, the doctor examined her legs, asked many questions and then studied her walk. He then turned to us and said she didn't need physical therapy she just had a gait issue and needed orthotics. As soon as she got the orthotics, the shin splints went away and she has not had them again since. Then recently, I went to him because I had been having a great deal of knee pain from instructing Zumba. He checked out my legs and within minutes told me the bones were out of alignment. Right then and there, he adjusted them both and the pain was gone. In just one visit both issues were resolved. I would highly recommend anyone having similar issues be examined by Dr. Shaeffer before proceeding any further. It could save you a lot of time and headache."
Jan 18, 2013
From Google
©2018 Google LLC All rights reserved. Google and the Google logo are registered trademarks of Google LLC.

"Any discomfort I have in my neck, back, shoulder, leg, knee or ankle, I would see Dr. Karl Sheaffer before any orthopedic surgeon. Most often the problem is an alignment issue that is resolved by Dr. Sheaffer. Since he's not affiliated with any big hospital network, there are no hidden fees, just my copay. Most often, he fixes my problem with one visit and some ongoing exercises to do. This therapist has a sixth sense about your musculoskeletal system. Our entire family goes to him for the past 15 years. There is no one like him!"

Diane C.

"It is difficult to count the number of times Dr. Sheaffer saved me from going to and orthopedic surgeon and kept me on the tennis court. He immediately takes away my knee pain with a minor manipulation. No need for arthroscopy. See Dr. Sheaffer instead!"

Peter C.

"Dr. Sheaffer is my go to man for my lower back pain. He understands the human body and he explains everything very clearly for us people that need exactly that. I have told coworkers about OPTS so that alone shows how impressed I've been. That is not something I usually do. Thank you Doc. I'll be back when needed."

Richard S.

"I have been living with a single knee problem for 15 years. Most of the cartilage on only the inner side of my left knee was done over 10 years ago. The first orthopedic MD that reviewed my situation wanted to perform arthroscopic surgery to clean a tear. I refused and sought a second opinion. The second orthopedic MD shot me up with cortisone, then hyaluronic acid lubricant, then fitted me with an awkward knee brace that I was told was to be with me for the rest of my life. At my first visit to Dr. Sheaffer for a different minor issue, I was wearing shorts and Dr. Sheaffer asked why I was wearing the brace. I relayed the history and was told that I could throw away the brace with the right treatment. Of course, I was very skeptical because I had vacation scheduled to Alaska requiring a fair bit of hiking. After the treatment by Dr. Sheaffer, I did go to Alaska without the brace and proceeded to hike a trail that took me up 500 vertical feet with no problem. Since then I backpacked and hiked the Grand Canyon from rim to rim at the age of 61 and the brace is still on my closet shelf as a reminder. Since those first visits, I will go to no other physical therapist and have referred others who have had excellent results. There is no one better in the Lehigh Valley."

Robert E.

"Three days before my family's vacation to Disneyworld, my knee buckled while running. I couldn't put weight on my leg. I couldn't walk! The next day I called Dr. Sheaffer. He gave me an appointment that day. My husband drove me to to my appointment and helped me get into the office. After 20 minutes of Dr. Sheaffer working on my knee, I was walking. I did 20 minutes of exercise and walked out of Dr. Sheaffer's office. I went on my family vacation to Disneyworld and had a great week of swimming and walking. Dr. Sheaffer saved our family vacation."

Julie D.

"I thank you for your help and for the advice you have given to me. I believe you did as much as you could for me considering my situation with my back."

Dr. Joseph C.

"Dr. Karl Sheaffer is a superior Physical Therapist who takes his job seriously and really knows his specialty. He has treated me & my children for a variety of injuries/issues over many years. Dr. Sheaffer is always spot-on with his diagnosis and treatments. His wife Cindy is cheery & keeps the front office running smoothly. I highly recommend this practice if you're in need of some PT magic!"

Kathy G.

"Best physical therapy option around. Dr. Sheaffer offers a level of patient care beyond other providers."

Ernie S.

"I am VERY pleased with the care my family received from Orthopedic PT Specialists. First, about two years ago, my daughter (a dancer) was referred to them for physical therapy for shin splints. At the very first appointment, the doctor examined her legs, asked many questions and then studied her walk. He then turned to us and said she didn't need physical therapy she just had a gait issue and needed orthotics. As soon as she got the orthotics, the shin splints went away and she has not had them again since. Then recently, I went to him because I had been having a great deal of knee pain from instructing Zumba. He checked out my legs and within minutes told me the bones were out of alignment. Right then and there, he adjusted them both and the pain was gone. In just one visit, both issues were resolved. I would highly recommend anyone having similar issues be examined by Dr. Sheaffer before proceeding any further. It could save you a lot of time and headache."

Donna B.

"If you want the best PT treatment in the Lehigh Valley, come here! This is a 1-on-1 clinic, (not a meat factory for the surgeons as I call the big hospital/PT clinics). I always recommend Dr. Sheaffer, he is without a doubt, the best in the area. Personable and priendly. I trust Dr. Sheaffer, my family & I have been coming here since he opened. He has FIXED our shoulders, knees, feet, neck and backs! NO SURGERY!"

So before going for surgery, let Dr. Sheaffer evaluate your symptoms, a minor tear doesn't always require surgery, just physical therapy. If you do require surgery, TELL your surgeon where you are going for P.T. and Don't let them tell or sway you otherwise, You do have a CHOICE in your healthcare. They always "recommend" their own in house P.T. factory, not the best Physical Therapist."

Tony V.

"Dr. Karl Sheaffer is the best physical therapist I've ever been too, and I've had knee and back problems since I was in middle school. He is always very thorough when evaluating a new condition, and is often able to pinpoint the problem within a very short time and correct the issue quickly. In addition on more complex cases, Dr. Sheaffer will think outside the standard practices to ensure the patient is able to improve. I had a total knee replacement due to severe trauma when I was 30 years old, and had significant scar tissue as a result of the trauma and surgery. He worked with me 5 days a week to ensure the my knee healed properly and I am now able to walk without a limp or cane. He even worked with my primary care physician to identify and treat hyper nerve sensitivities as a result of the surgeries and trauma to my knee. I've never had a physical therapist so hands on and concerned with my well being and I don't think I would be walking without a cane if it wasn't for his physical therapy."

Nicole M.

"Dr. Karl Sheaffer is the best; he gave me back my life! I had chronic neck pain that required me to be on two different medications daily to function. I saw several doctors who sent me for numerous scans, x-rays, MRI's and finally to pain management specialists. I was told I could have surgery or injections to ease my pain, I wasn't interested in either. I was also told that without surgery, I would have the chronic pain the rest of my life. A good friend referred me to Dr. Sheaffer, and after several visits with adjustments, stretching and strengthening exercises; my pain subsided and eventually became non-existent. The medications went in the garbage and I had my life back....I wouldn't go to anyone else or refer anyone but Dr. Sheaffer. He provides a no-nonsense approach, in a personal setting, providing excellent one-on-one care!"

Kim B.

"You diagnosed and fixed my elbow pain in about five minutes, then guided me through several strengthening exercises that got me back to full usage of my arm."

"You attacked the problem looking at all possible angles and source of pain. You managed to determine the the issue on the day of evaluation and took immediate action to correct it."

"You were 100% attentive to my situation."

"You didn't just treat it over and over, you looked to find the problem and a solution."

"Everything was explained very clearly. The care was excellent!!!!!!!! I can attend aerobic class without pain!!!!! I thank you and my feet thank you!!!"

"Excellent-great improvement continues today. Will not hesitate to recommend you to others."

"It was great. Dr. Sheaffer really helped me out a lot."

"You reduced my pain and increased my mobility. You explained the nature of my problem well and always made it clear what and why you were doing. The personal attention was nothing short of amazing. While I still have discomfort, it is far more manageable, and I know how and what to do to help myself."

"Returned to 100% health and normal life style."

"The hands-on approach and attention to detail that Dr. Sheaffer provided me was amazing. I do not think that my knee would be bending past 90 degrees without his help. Cindy was also great in resolving insurance problems and scheduling. I am forever grateful that I came to OPTS for rehab."

"Dear Cindy and Dr. Karl Sheaffer,

It was difficult for me to begin writing a testimonial. How could I put in words my gratitude to you both, not only have you changed my quality of life, but my family and I also feel we have added to our family circle by having you in our lives. There is not a day that goes by that I don't thank God for all your care, concern and gift of healing. I suffered everyday for 5-1/2 years; the pain took it's toll on me. My life is much better now and I know you are always there for me, and know exactly how to help me."

C. Stiegler

"Dr. Karl Sheaffer's attention to detail, individual treatment, one-on-one care was very beneficial. Being a patient for numerous contact sport-related injuries, Dr. Sheaffer, and his motion treatment got me back to my playing condition faster. I recommend anyone with sports, work, or surgical PT needs to Dr. Sheaffer because he works with you one-on-one on and individual basis."

A.S.

"Having been a client and an intern for OPTS, I was able to get a true feeling for how Dr. and Mrs. Sheaffer run their clinic. They sincerely care about each patient and always seem to find a way to connect with each of them. They are dedicated to personal DPT attention for the duration of each session and do not rush people through their workouts as most bigger and over-scheduled physical therapy places do. The environment is relaxing, friendly, and most conducive to a client's progression.

When a family member, friend, or acquaintance needs physical therapy, I always mention OPTS. If someone needs orthopedic surgery I suggest they go see Dr. Sheaffer first. I have seen countless cases including my mother and myself in Dr. Sheaffer found that surgery was not necessary and the problem could be remedied with joint manipulation and muscle strengthening. I have worked with several therapists, strength and conditioning specialists, athletic trainers, etc. but none more knowledgeable in the field than Dr. Sheaffer, and none more pleasant. As much as we hope to stay healthy, my family and I will always turn to OPTS if we should find ourselves in need oftheir services."

M.G.

"Dr. Sheaffer helped me attain the goal I set, and to be back out on the ski slopes in record time. I really appreciate the "one-on-one care" provided and knowing that I was only working with Dr. Sheaffer. He really explained everything even down to how much it would hurt, and I appreciated his honesty and caring. He was also always on time. I never sat in the waiting room more than 5 minutes. The environment in your office is warm and friendly, and it made it easy to come in for treatment."

Patient Testimonial